Indie Junkie Part Deux

I’m just going to go ahead and start off by saying that Youtube is awesome. And Google is awesome. This is due to the fact that the majority of the music I have been finding lately has  mostly been discovered through botched attempts at typing into the search bar.

So, a few months ago I decided I wanted Indian food. This, as most of my friends can tell you, is a regular occurence. Chicken tikka masala and I go together like peanut butter and jelly. It’s sad how much I like it, really. Anyway, I decided to type in “indian food,” and I kept on seeing these links to Bombay Bicycle Club Indian Restaurant. Much to my disappointment, I discovered that this chain of fast-as-you-can-get-it Indian food was only available in the UK. Hungry, and slightly defeated, I was about to give up my search when suddenly near the bottom of the page I saw a link to a Youtube video titled “Bombay Bicycle Club-Autumn.” Ignoring my growling stomach, I clicked on it and pressed play. My reaction to this was how I normally react when hearing something great that I haven’t heard before: I freaked out (in a good way, no worries). When the song was finished, I did my normal routine of Youtubing a boat-load of other songs by the band, then checking their mySpace, Wikipedia, etc.

What a fantastic group. I mean, really. I could go on for days about how wonderful they are. From their debut album “I Had the Blues but I Shook Them Loose” to their acoustic EP “Flaws,” Bombay Bicycle Club is probably one of the more impressive bands musically I’ve seen in a very, very long time. Oh, and they’re British. So that automatically gets them brownie points.

And you get to enjoy them too! Here’s a link to one of their more popular songs, Shuffle:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JBRL-y3NRZ8

Seriously. Go listen to them now.

-Cassady Clinkscale

~ by bakerumedia on September 6, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
