High School Senior or College Freshman?

They say there is no one older than a high school senior, and no one younger than a college freshman. That saying really has nothing to do with the rest of my blog, but I heard it at a high school graduation once and thought it would be a good way to get my column started.

Anyway, hey everybody, my name is Jeff and I’m a senior at Ottawa High School, taking some classes at Baker including digital media, which is what this blog is for. As I was driving back to high school from Baker on Tuesday, I was wondering what to write about. I’m really into music (I’ve been playing piano since I was 4 and trumpet since I was 9) so I thought I might write about that, but it wouldn’t be very original. I also like sports (I like basketball, baseball, tennis, and golf) and I thought I could write about golf. It’s not the most common sport in the world, especially for high-schoolers, but it still wouldn’t be very inspiring. So, keep in mind that I was physically between the two schools I attend, I thought I could write about metaphorically being “between” two schools. Perfect! That’s not something everyone can say, right? It’s basically the perfect plan. So I ended up driving with goofy grin on my face for the next couple minutes. Anyway, here goes.

I have been debating with myself about whether I am a high school senior or a college freshman. Occasionally, someone will ask me what grade I’m in, and maybe I’m easily annoyed, but it seems tedious to say “I’m a senior, but I’m taking some college classes.” I’m essentially having an identity crisis! I need to resolve this issue. Let’s look at some quick facts:

-I’m enrolled in 3 high school classes, and 3 college classes. That’s no help.
-I spend 1101 minutes per week in high school classes, compared to 540 minutes in college classes. (I have no idea why I actually spent the time to do this math.) Anyway, maybe we have something! But,
-I spend about 8 hours a week doing homework for high school, and about 12 doing college homework.
-I have enough college credits that by next year, when I would definitely be considered a college student, I would have sophomore status. So…that would make this year my freshman year, right? However,
-I’m still eligible for high school activities, and am not technically a full-time college student.

Hmm. I can’t decide. I’m not much of a soccer fan, but we might have to end this one in a tie. Yep, I am decidedly both.

*Disclaimer: I am not actually having an identity crisis. In fact, I don’t really dwell on this matter very much at all; I  have no problems with my scheduling or anything. If anyone in my digital media class reads this, next time you see me, don’t think that I’m secretly in the midst of emotional turmoil and on the verge of a mental breakdown. I kind of just needed an original topic to write about.

That’s about it. Thank you to anyone who took the time to read this, I genuinely appreciate it.

-Jeffrey Doolittle

~ by dbozmedia on August 30, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
