Online Dating

Megan Perry

In recent weeks the topic of online dating has appeared to pop up more and more. Not this is a new concept or anything, but I think with age comes an increase seriousness about dating. A nameless friend of mine started a profile on plentyoffish.com as a suggestion from some older woman who found success. Within twenty four hours she already was chatting away with potential suitors. Now I stop and wonder if this has become my generation’s crutch? Will those cutesy love stories of first meetings disappear?

To answer my questions about generation, my teacher observing hours today dismissed this notion. During grade level plan period, the topic of dating came up. To my own surprise, multiple teachers begin talking about experiences with online dating. One excursion in the virtual dating world resulted in a happy marriage, and another is still dabbling. When noticing my surprise, they tell me how much easier it is  to have a database find matches and sort through the bad apples. Life gets busy, and sometime a person has to call on those resources available. Personally, I think I will take a pass. The concept is still an intriguing one, though.

~ by dbozmedia on April 15, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
