Childhood Christmas Movies

By Tera Lyons

Every year since I can remember, I have spent the holiday season watching the old Christmas movies. Rudolph the Red Nose Reindeer, Santa Claus is Coming to Town, and Jack Frost, are just a few of the movies that have become tradition over the years. It wasn’t until I began watching them this year that I realized how awfully bad the animation was. I have always ignored it in the past, but this year it really bugged me.

In all these movies their knees don’t bend, and also their mouths barely move. They almost always have the same look on their faces. It is like watching a show put on by children using extremely creepy looking dolls. Then again this is a stop motion film so it makes sense that the dolls couldn’t do much movement.

It is amazing how far we have come in the evolution of animation. Rudolph the Red Nose Reineer was made in 1964, so in 46 years we have 3D Christmas films such as A Christmas Carol, that animates a person (Jim Carrey) and the audience becomes involved in the viewing. How can we have jumped so far into time and really see what quality is?

After looking up this information, I realized that even the generation below me probably don’t have  a respect for this movie that was instilled in me from a young age. This is probably not even enjoyable to watch. I have childhood memories attached to these movies that I remember every December when the begin playing again on the TV.

So as I sit here typing this, I have Santa Claus is Coming to Down playing behind me. Maybe I will look back and be saying our 3D films are classics, but we have  a long ways to go before that is possible. Either way I am going to still enjoy these movies every Christmas.

~ by dbozmedia on December 11, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
