The Virtual Leash

Jordan Dolbin

So after an hour of hiking and two hours of scaling up the side of a cliff, we finally made it. We are 2,000 plus feet in the air at the top of Angel’s Landing in Zion national park and what an exquisite sight it is. Every direction I look I see miles of cliffs and trees, not a hint of civilization in sight. As a chipmunk scurries by my feet I think to myself, “Nothing can ruin this tranquility and beauty”. Not two seconds later I hear the annoying beeps of my dad’s cell phone and my mom says, “I just sent you the picture and I am now posting it on your facebook”. Really? Facebook? We are at the top of this 2,000 foot cliff in the middle of nowhere and my mom is able to update the facebook world with pictures of where we are.

With all the advancements in technology, the world has never been more connected. Between cell phones, computers, and the internet, no matter how physically far from society you are, you are rarely ever more than just a click away from being connected.

Cell phones are quite possibly the biggest reason for this. You have the whole world right under your thumbs. “Smart phones” are capable of text messaging, making phone calls, emailing, browsing the internet, checking sports updates and so much more. With all these capabilities, cell phones are invading all aspects of life. They are in the workplace, at school, in church, at the movies, EVERYWHERE. They have become such a staple in our lives that the line of when cell phones are appropriate and when they should be put away has been blurred. Cell phones are like a virtual leash that just about everybody can’t put down.

Now, with all that said, I must admit that I am one of the biggest offenders of the cell phone craze. If its not a phone call or a text message, then it’s a facebook post or the latest sports news. There is always something going on. If my phone is not in my hands, you can still be assured that it isn’t very far away.

~ by dbozmedia on September 7, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
