Grandmas can Skype too.

By Katie Jett

“If you can use a Web browser, you can use Skype.” – Niklas Zennstrom

I totally 100 percent agree with Zennstrom. Skype is becoming huge. I wouldn’t be surprised if by December a couple more million people are on Skype. In fact, there are 124 million people that use Skype. (http://skypenumerology.blogspot.com)

Surprisingly, only 16 percent of that is people from the United States, which includes a 75-year-old woman named Fern who likes to Skype her granddaughter at college… everyday. Whom, might you ask, is the lucky college student? That would be me.

Yes, it’s true. My grandma has Skype. My rural-living grandmother, who lives in the middle of nowhere, is a frequent Skype user. Now don’t get me wrong, I love my grandma, but I would only hear from her every six months or so. Now I get to talk to her monthly, weekly, hey! even daily. I do love that about Skype, how you can actually talk like you’re there with the person … especially people that you don’t see on a regular basis.

BUT, I find it so frustrating when I’m in the middle of something on my laptop, whether it’s typing a paper, Facebook chatting with someone, editing pictures, or whatever, when I get this bubble that pops in and I’m like “WHOA!” So, obviously if I’m busy, I decline it. Ill chat my grandma and say “hey grandma, I’m doing something right now, ill Skype you later.” I get a message back saying “OH DID IT NOT WORK? ILL TRY AGAIN.”

Okay first of all, I can’t tell if she’s yelling at me or if she just forgot the caps lock was on, and no, it is working, I just can’t talk right now. Ha-ha, oh grandma. She’s so funny. I wonder if anyone else Skype’s with their grandma, or if I’m just weird?

~ by dbozmedia on September 1, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
