And the Oscar goes to …



By Rachel Hawkins
I love watching the Oscars. I really do. They are my Super Bowl Sunday, March Madness, and the Olympics all rolled into one. It is, without a doubt, my favorite day of the year.

I spent most of my day yesterday sitting on the couch watching the countdown to the show. I watched the red carpet previews, the fashion and makeup tips and the coverage of the pre-parties. I saw more of Ryan Seacrest than I ever wanted to see, but I loved each and every minute of it.

For this year’s Academy Awards, I was rooting for the underdog, The Hurt Locker. This movie was nominated for nine academy awards and won six of the awards, including best director and best picture. This is the first time in the 82 year history of the Academy Awards that a woman, Katherine Bigelow, won for best director. And to top things off, she was up against her ex-husband, James Cameron, for his work on the movie Avatar.

The Hurt Locker was one of the best movies that I had seen this year. I’m not a huge action-movie fan, but I couldn’t pass up my Dad’s offer to take me to the movies when he suggested we see it. My face was covered up by my hands half the time because it was so jumpy and suspenseful, but it was such an awe-inspiring movie. It put the war in Iraq into perspective for me and made me so appreciative of the work that people in the military do in order to keep our country safe.

Watching the Oscars made me realize how much the entertainment industry has changed in the 82 year history of the Academy Awards. We are able to watch movies in 3D and see images that are digitally enhanced. Movies have come so far in 82 years and it makes me wonder what will happen in the next 82 years. What do you think?

~ by bakerumedia on March 12, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
