Recording shows on a VHS player

Marlee Johnson

Last week I was having a really busy night and wanted to watch the latest episode of one of my favorite shows. I wasn’t going to be able to watch it live and I don’t have TiVo or DVR, so I did something that may seem strange. I recorded it on a VHS player. I know crazy right? I was glad I did it because I got to watch the show as soon as I was done with my plans and didn’t have to wait until the next day to watch it online.

I will admit, the quality of the video wasn’t great and I had to get used to the fuzz around the screen. There was one thing that did bug me, though; there was no remote for the VCR, so that resulted in having to sit right next to the player in order to fast forward through the commercials. I am glad that I got to watch my show, but I felt a little odd watching it on a tape.

At home my family has DVR, so I have gotten used to recording “my shows” and watching them later fast forwarding through commercials and boring parts. It was a bit more difficult on the VHS player because it would fast forward too far and then I would rewind it back and go too far back in the tape again. Also the sound it makes when it rewinds or fast forwards was pretty funny, a strange humming sound.

As of now the trusty old VHS player sits on top of my refrigerator in my room just collecting dust, waiting for the next time I need to record a show.

~ by dbozmedia on March 3, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
