A milestone for iTunes

Rachel Hawkins

Today was the day that Apple has been preparing for for two weeks now. Today, iTunes had its 10 billionth song downloaded. Now, don’t get me wrong- I love iTunes. I hardly ever do homework without listening to music. My favorite ‘study’ music right now consists of a mixture between Jack Johnson and Lady Antebellum.

I feel like iTunes has been around forever. It is just now getting to its 10 billionth download? One would think it would have happened sooner. But at the same time, I can believe it. There are so many sites out there that have made it easy for people to download music illegally. Limewire, Frostwire and Napster are just a few of them.

But I’m one of those people who just can’t do that. Whenever I see friends downloading the latest song on those sites, I just start to feel bad for the music companies, the producers and the artists. I just can’t do it. Maybe it’s because I was introduced to iTunes by a friend who only bought songs from that. Or maybe because on each birthday or holiday, an iTunes gift card makes it way into my possession.

Who knows? Maybe I’ll be the customer that buys the eleventh billion song from iTunes. Just maybe …

~ by bakerumedia on February 25, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
