Connection

Megan Perry

When it comes to the internet, I am spoiled while at college. Whether I am at my sorority house or in the library, I can pop my laptop up anywhere and hook up to internet. This is not so much the case when the time comes to pack up and head back home. Dial-up still is the only access my family has to the world-wide-web. I am not complaining in the slightest. Sure dial-up has its downfalls. In the grand scheme of things though, it does fulfill its main purpose. To connect.

According to the Federal Communications Commission, my parents are what they would call ‘Near Converts.’ These are the people who just fall into the other 10 percent of Americans out there who are not yet using high-speed internet.

Others who are not likely to take part in the wonders of high speed internet have been categorized as the Digitally Distant, Digital Hopefuls, and Digitally Uncomfortable.

A recent article in the Wall Street Journal was about how the FCC is planning a way to bring high-speed internet to all Americans. This sounds like a pretty intriguing idea. Especially, looking toward my future as a teacher, this could be a crucial move. Accommodating to students without the same technology privileges can be tricky at times.

As long as there have been digital devices, there has been a digital divide among people. I cannot think of a single reason why this would not be a positive step toward the future. Government programs helping to give Americans access to the internet can open a new world.

The article does not provide a specific game plan, but I will be interested to see how the FCC plans to go about executing this idea in the future.

~ by dbozmedia on February 24, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
