I gave in to the virtual world

by Alix Schiraldi

My boyfriend has been constantly been playing a game called Call of Duty Modern Warfare 2. I always wondered why in the world he would sit there and play for hours on end and not get up to take a break. I tried to understand what was so great about the game and how countless guys around the world were all buckling down and playing the video game more commonly known as COD!

So, what did I do? I decided to play the game with my boyfriend and see what all the hype was about. First let’s talk about my experience with video games. I actually like to play them on occasion and I am a big fan of the Wii and old school Super Nintendo. I have to admit I also love our PS3 but I don’t play that much and its only when I feel bored. My boyfriend taught me all the controls and I barely listened because I thought the game was going to be easy. Truth of the matter is it actually was pretty tough to get the hang of.

I got use to the controls and not only was I “PWNING” face as some COD enthusiasts say, but I was actually having fun and enjoying the game. I didn’t want to stop! My boyfriend and I ended up playing until about three in the morning. I never thought a shooting game full of blood and gore would be so fun! I also never thought I would be so good at it. I found myself yelling at my boyfriend since we were partners in missions and getting mad at him when we failed. I also found myself using COD “talk” that my boyfriend uses. Besides the word PWNING, which is another word for owning, I was yelling out “HEAD SHOT” when I managed to shoot someone in the head.

It all sounds pretty funny and it is an intense game, but I dare you to try it. You may end up having fun and begging for more. I know I am, and I can’t wait to get home and play!

~ by dbozmedia on February 18, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
