My Mac Experience

By Marlee Johnson

When I first came to college I had a plan for what I wanted to be. Well, that changed several times and has brought me to where I am right now. I am a brand spankin’ new Mass Media Major as of this semester. That means I am in almost all Mass Media classes. I am not really having much of a problem being the new girl in class, but there is one thing that has been giving me trouble. The Mac computers…

I know that sounds really crazy, but I have used a PC forever. I don’t have a problem with using a PC and I think that they work pretty well for the most part. There are a few things that annoy me about my PC. First are when my computer will freeze up or randomly turn off on its own. Another thing that bugs me is whenever you go to a site that your computer doesn’t agree with it will ask you if you want to stay on the page. I am not saying that I don’t like the PC, but those things just tend to get on my nerves a bit. The Mac commercials on T.V. show all about the debate over Mac and PC. They are also pretty comical too.

On the first day of class I felt a little nervous about using the Mac computers, and had a couple of slip ups. We were asked to copy and paste something into a document and I tried hitting “control c” and “control v”, like I would on my PC. Well, the teacher hovers over me and I cannot get it to work, and then come to find out that there is a special button called the “apple” button that is used for copy and paste. I felt pretty dumb, but since then I have started to get the hang of the Mac. There are a lot of short cuts and easy ways to do things on the Mac that I like a lot better than the PC.

We are now two full weeks into classes and I am feeling a lot more confident about using a Mac computer. I am even starting to like it a little more than my PC.

~ by dbozmedia on February 11, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
