Return of the Blog

After reading some analysts’ assertion that blogs are dead, I quit blogging late last year. I had been giving the content of this blog free to a local newspaper Web site, and it was starting to become a stale routine of making my WordPress entries and then transferring them to the newspaper’s content management system.

But upon further review … I decided I still like blogs. Even as I try out Twitter to promote my rock band and play with my first BlackBerry, I see value and functionality in the old-school blog. While some blogs are attracting economic attention, one of the problems is that often they are merely riffs on work from struggling traditional media. And most bloggers like me who don’t attract (or even seek) advertising have very few readers.

Nevertheless, I’m rooting for blogs to survive the Twitter onslaught, and I’m doing my part by restarting my own blog and by using blogs as a teaching tool in my college classes.

For this go-round, I don’t plan to give the content of this blog away to any other sites. I’ll just enjoy, learn and share.

~ by bakerumedia on July 22, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
